head 3

Assembly elections 2021: Election in Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Assam and Puducherry are over; West Bengal have five more rounds left; high turnout recorded

Assembly elections have ended in three Indian states and one Union Territory. Elections in Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry concluded today, while voting in West Bengal will conclude later this month. The election, which started on March 27, will end on April 29. In Assam and West Bengal, the election were held in phases, while in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, it was held in a single phase.

Today (Tuesday) was the biggest day of election cycle since the Lok Sabha polls in 2019. Voting took place in 475 of the total 824 assembly constituencies across West Bengal, Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

According to reports, the voter turnout today in Assam was 82.28%, while in West Bengal it was 84.21%. Kerala recorded a 73.40% turnout until 6 pm, while Tamil Nadu reported a 62.86% turnout until 5 pm. At the same time 77.87% of the people voted in Puducherry.

Elections for all Assembly seats in Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry were conducted in a single phase today. Voting took place for 234 seats in Tamil Nadu, 140 in Kerala and 30 in Puducherry.

In Tamil Nadu, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)-led alliance is contested against the incumbent All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). And in Kerala, the contest is between the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF). The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is also optimistic about this year’s Kerala Assembly election.

West Bengal elections are conducted in eight phases. March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and last phase is on April 29. West Bengal had its third round of voting today, and there will be five more rounds of voting.

Bengal voters went to the polling Booth today for the third round of voting for 31 seats. Ruling party Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ensure a tough fight in Bengal constituencies.

Elections for the Assam Assembly were held in three phases, with the final poll took place today. Voting took place on March 27, April 1 and April 6. In Assam, voters cast ballots for 40 of the 126 seats in the final round of voting. The race is between the ruling BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the Congress-led Mahajot.

The counting of votes for all the four states and one Union territory will take place on May 2.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.