head 3

Assembly Election: LDF sweeps Kerala, BJP retains Assam, DMK gains in TN and TMC in Bengal

The results of assembly elections held in four Indian states and one union territory came out today. The counting of votes for the assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala, and the union territory of Puducherry started at 8 am.


The LDF government is set to form the government in Kerala for the second consecutive term after winning 99 seats. The UDF only managed to win 41 seats, while the BJP did not obtain a single seat this time.

For the first time in four decades, Kerala will see a party continue in power for a second term. In 2011, V S Achuthanandan lost his second term of governing for just 4 seats, but this time, Pinarayi Vijayan is all set to lead the state for another five years.

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has a lead of over 50,000 votes, while Minister for Health K. K. Shailaja has a lead of over 60,000 votes in Mattanur constituency.

Ramesh Chennithala, the leader of the opposition party, and former Chief Minister of Kerala both won in their respective constituencies.

West Bengal

West Bengal witnessed a neck-and-neck contest between the ruling Trinamool Congress and the BJP after the first round of vote count. But in the end Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress won with 216 seats, while the BJP received just 75.


In Assam, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to form the government for the second consecutive term. The ruling BJP-led NDA won with 76 seats, while the Congress received just 48 seats.

Tamil Nadu

Stalin’s party DMK has won in Tamil Nadu with 143 seats, while the ruling AIADMK started with huge lead but only managed to secure 87 seats.


Puducherry, a Union Territory with just 30 seats, saw a close contest between the NDA and the UPA. However, the NDA won 12 seats, defeating the UPA, which received just 6 seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated all Assembly election winners on Twitter.

The elections were held amid the ongoing COVID-19 crisis in India. Voting in Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry took place in a single phase on April 6, while voting in Assam took place in three phases on March 27, April 1, and April 6. Meanwhile, in West Bengal, voting was held in eight phases on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26, and April 29.

The vote count was held in compliance with public health regulations in all four states and Puducherry. Since India is currently in a worse situation due to the corona virus pandemic, the Election Commission previously issued an order prohibiting all types of victory celebrations and processions on and after May 2.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.