head 3

First Test between India and England starts today; Full Schedule, Fixtures, Squads, other details

ENGLAND As the two giants of world cricket set to face each other, exciting cricket action can be expected from this afternoon. The first of five Test matches in the series will begin today at 3:30 pm (Indian time) at Trent Bridge in Nottingham. India, led by Virat Kohli, and England, led by Joe Root, will be in full gear to kick off the second edition of the World Test Championship with a bang.

The Indian skipper said on Monday that winning a Test series in England requires “relentless madness” and a single-minded pursuit of excellence. “I want us to go for the win and not surrender and try to save a test match on day three or day four, that for me is just not acceptable,” Kohli said at a press conference.

All eyes will be on Virat Kohli to see whether he can end his century drought, and the encounter against England’s star bowler James Anderson will be exciting. Kohli can achieve 2,000 Test runs against England if he scores 258 runs in this series. He has scored 1,742 runs against England in Tests at an average of 45.84.

India has added Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw in the squad following injuries to Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal. England, on the other hand, will be without the services of Jofra Archer, Chris Woakes, and ace all-rounder Ben Stokes.


First Test at Trent Bridge, Nottingham – August 4 at 3:30 PM

Second Test at Lord’s, London – August 12 at 3:30 PM

Third Test at Headingley, Leeds – August 25 at 3:30 PM

Fourth Test at Kennington Oval, London – September 2 at 3:30 PM

Fifth Test at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester – September 10 at 3:30 PM


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav.

England: Joe Root (capt), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Mark Wood.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.