head 3

IPL 2023 Final: Chennai win 5th IPL title

Chennai Super Kings equaled Mumbai Indians’ record for most IPL titles with a four off the last ball from Ravindra Jadeja. Sai Sudharsan’s 96 from 47 balls pushed the Gujarat Titans to a total of 214/4. In his innings, the 23-year-old Chennai boy hit eight fours and six sixes while making the most of the death overs. Wriddhiman Saha had hit 54 off 39 on a day when his prolific opening partner Shubman Gill was restricted to 39 off 20. Throughout the GT innings, just light drizzles occurred, causing no stoppages. However, the game was called off after the third ball of the first over of the CSK innings due to severe rain at the venue. While the rain didn’t linger long, it was the soggy outfield, specifically a poor practise pitch at the square’s edge, that caused the most delay.

Finally, the game was cut to 15 overs, and CSK’s goal was lowered to 171. The match was ultimately restarted, and it has been a roller coaster ride ever since. Big knocks from Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, and Ambati Rayudu aided CSK’s cause, but Mohit Sharma chipped in with crucial wickets whenever the opposition appeared to be running away with it. Mohit bowled the final over as well, reducing the score to CSK’s needing 10 off the final two balls. However, Ravindra Jadeja ended up hitting the second last ball for a six and the last ball for a four, leading CSK to a five-wicket victory and their fifth title. 






Irish Samachar English News

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar.


Comments are closed.