head 3

“Prime Minister Narendra Modi and 71 Ministers Sworn: 30 Cabinet Ministers, 5 with Independent Charge, and 36 Ministers of State”

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in today for his third consecutive term, leading a new coalition government. Alongside him, 71 ministers took the oath—30 as Cabinet Ministers, 5 with independent charge, and 36 as Ministers of State. Portfolios will be announced later.

At 73, Modi becomes the second Prime Minister after Jawaharlal Nehru to serve three consecutive terms. The ceremony took place on the lawns of Rashtrapati Bhavan, with temperatures reaching 42 degrees Celsius in the capital. President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath.

Following PM Modi, Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah took their oaths, followed by Nitin Gadkari, JP Nadda, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar, and Manohar Lal Khattar.

HD Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal (Secular) was the first ally from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to take the oath, followed by Janata Dal (United) leader Lalan Singh. From the northeast, Sarbananda Sonowal and Kiren Rijiju took the oath.

Prominent Scheduled Castes leader Virendra Kumar, an eight-time MP from Madhya Pradesh, was also inducted. Supporters cheered as each leader approached the microphone to be sworn in by the President.

Jyotiraditya Scindia’s induction marked his second term in the Union cabinet since leaving Congress four years ago. Former diplomat Hardeep Singh Puri, noted for navigating two oil crises, was among the ministers sworn in today.

Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) reinforced his status as his father’s political heir with his induction into the government, marking a significant return in Bihar’s political scene.

Dignitaries from neighbouring countries, including Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, and Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, attended the ceremony.

Irish Samachar English News

Kindly click to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar.

{OR} Kindly click to follow the Irish Samachar News channel on WhatsApp

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.