head 3

16 European countries now recognise India’s Covishield vaccine

DUBLIN: Sixteen European countries have now approved the Covishield COVID-19 vaccine, the Indian version of the Oxford-Astrazeneca vaccine, for entry of international travellers.

France was the latest European country, and the 13th EU member state, to recognise the vaccine for inclusion in the EU Digital COVID Certificate (DCC).

Following France’s confirmation of Covishield’s acceptance, Serum Institute of India CEO Adar Poonawalla said, “It is indeed good news for travellers, as we see 16 European countries recognising Covishield as an acceptable vaccine for entry.”

“However despite being vaccinated, entry guidelines might vary from country to country, so do read up before your travel,” Poonawalla added.

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, the Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and France are the 16 countries that now recognise Covishield. Out of these, 13 are EU members.

Covishield, manufactured by Pune-based Serum Institute of India (SII), was approved by the World Health Organization but not by the European Medicines Agency (EMA), which is why it is not included in the Digital Certificate. However, EU member states have the option of accepting World Health Organization-approved vaccinations.

The DCC, which allows vaccinated travellers and those who have recently recovered from COVID-19 to travel freely across the EU, went into force on July 1st in all EU member states except Ireland. Ireland has already started issuing the certs to its people and will join the system on July 19.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.