head 3

Further 14 TDs will be elected, making 49 TDs from Dublin alone

Dublin: The Electoral Commission has announced its decision to include 14 more TDs in the next general election in Ireland, due to be held in March 2025. The largest Dáil in Ireland’s history will be part of the population increase.

According to a report on proposed boundary revisions published yesterday by the Electoral Commission, the next Dáil will have 174 members, up from the current 160.

A reduction in the number of TDs from constituencies will significantly affect smaller parties, including the Greens, Labour, and Social Democrats. Sinn Féin will benefit the most.

Based on population estimates from the 2022 census, Ireland will have 43 constituencies at the next general election, and 174 TDs from these constituencies will enter Parliament. Some constituencies will have three TDs elected, while others will have five TDs. Dublin alone will have 49 TDs elected.

Seven constituencies will remain completely unchanged: Clare, Cork South-West, Donegal, Dublin Central, Kerry, County Limerick, and Waterford.

Irish Samachar English News

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar.


Comments are closed.