head 3

“Ireland Faces Severe Snowfall: Yellow Alert Issued in Four Counties—Travel Warnings in Place”

Dublin: Amidst heavy snowfall, a yellow snow alert has been declared in Donegal, Leitrim, Mayo, and Sligo, effective from 7 a.m. today until 11 a.m. on Thursday. Sub-zero temperatures persist in these counties, with a nationwide alert in place from 6 p.m. today. Met Éireann urges caution as snow accumulation may impede travel, emphasising the potential for severe cold and snow on Wednesday morning.

Local school closures are at the discretion of management, as the Department of Education empowers decisions based on weather forecasts. Mayo County Council deploys gritting teams to address low road temperatures, cautioning road users about challenging travel conditions, especially for vulnerable individuals and pets.


Recording a frigid -6.3 degrees Celsius in Moore Park, Cork, the Met Office anticipates heavy wintry showers in the west and north. Tonight’s temperatures ranging between 4C and 1C pose risks of heavy snow and ice, leading to perilous travel conditions until Friday. Wednesday night is expected to witness the lowest temperatures this week, with Thursday night forecasts ranging from -5 to -1 degrees and -5 to -2 degrees, respectively.

In Northern Ireland, the UK’s Met Office issues yellow snow and ice alerts for all counties except Armagh, valid until midnight tonight.

Hear the latest National Forecast for today & the next few days: https://x.com/MetEireann/status/1747502316893110608?s=20

Irish Samachar English News

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar.



Comments are closed.