head 3

Thirteen more countries added to the list of high-risk countries

DUBLIN:  Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said that as part of the new COVID-19 regulations, international travellers from 13 countries will also face the mandatory hotel quarantine. Thirteen South and Central American countries were added to the new list.

Earlier this month, the first list of 20 risk countries was released, including Brazil, South Africa, the United Arab Emirates, Austria and 16 sub-Saharan countries.

Government to introduce one-stop shop service

The government is exploring the possibility of introducing a one-stop shop service that will provide transportation, accommodation, food and security to those facing a mandatory hotel quarantine. It is expected to be discussed on Monday.

Opposition parties have strongly opposed the policy of Stephen Donnelly. At the same time, people arriving in the country will also be able to avail the services of the expanded state testing system following the advice of NPHET.

It is learned that NPHET has recommended home quarantine from countries including India to undergo a COVID-19 test through a public system after five days. This setting does not apply to those from Schedule Two countries. NPHET recommends a further test on the tenth day after their arrival.

The Health Protection Surveillance Centre (HPSC) reported 29 COVID-19 deaths and 776 new cases yesterday. Meanwhile, from early January to mid-February, prosecution took action against more than 400 people who arrived in Ireland without a PCR inspection report.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.