head 3

Cricket Ireland awards: Paul Stirling wins player of the year and decade; Limerick CC named Club of the Year

DUBLIN: Paul Stirling was named both the Cricket Ireland Player of the Decade and Player of the Year, while Kim Garth was named women’s Player of the Decade.

Simi Singh and Laura Delany also honoured for their performances in domestic cricket last year.

Having already been named the Munster Club of the Year, Limerick CC was named the club of the year for their considerable on field success. Limerick CC won the Premier, Division 1 and Division 3 league titles last year in Munster.

Community engagement and club health initiatives, including mental health awareness training, helped the club receive the award.

“We’re a small club so anytime we’re spoken about on a national level, it’s always a big thing for us,” said club president Chris Thomas.

“We’re very much a youth-based club. Any club should be about developing relationships and trust and giving players and young guys, or guys in their 30s who want to give it a go, a chance to participate as much as they want,” Thomas added.

Meanwhile, team’s top scorer Swaroop Burra was nominated for the Club Player of the Year award.

ITW Irish Cricket Awards 2021

ITW International Player of the Decade – Men

Paul Stirling

Hanley Energy International Player of the Decade – Women

Kim Garth

ITW International Men’s Player of the Year

Paul Stirling

Test Triangle Inter-Provincial Player of the Year

Simi Singh

Arachas Super Series Player of the Year

Laura Delany

Tildenet Club of the Year

Limerick Cricket Club

O’Neill’s Club Male Player of the Year

John Anderson (Merrion)

O’Neill’s Club Female Player of the Year

Alana Dalzell (Bready CC)

Cricket Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame

Caitriona Beggs, Peter Gillespie and Jimmy Boucher (RIP)

Clear Currency Volunteering Excellence Award Winner

Michael Hickey (Lismore Cricket Club)

Gibney’s Outstanding Contribution and Service to Irish Cricket

Roy Torrens (RIP)

Techfynder Cricket Official of the Year

Ian Houston (Northern Ireland Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers)

Shapoorji Pallonji Outstanding Contribution to Coaching

Brían O’Rourke

Turkish Airlines Special Jury Award – Spirit of Cricket Award

Bready Cricket Club

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.