head 3

“India Crowned World Champions After Thrilling Win Against First-Time Finalists South Africa”

India clinched the T20 World Cup title with a thrilling seven-run victory over South Africa in a gripping final at Kensington Oval on Saturday. Virat Kohli’s crucial 76 propelled India to a solid 176-7. South Africa, led by Heinrich Klaasen’s explosive 52 off 27 balls, appeared poised for victory, but India’s exceptional death bowling turned the tide.

South Africa finished at 169-8, with Hardik Pandya taking 3-20, much to the delight of the large Indian crowd at the stadium. Despite struggling earlier in the tournament, Kohli delivered a masterful innings when it mattered most. India had faltered to 34-3 after captain Rohit Sharma elected to bat, but Kohli’s balanced batting provided the stability they needed.

Quinton de Kock (39) and Tristan Stubbs (31) kept South Africa in the game before Klaasen’s aggressive 15th over off Axar Patel, which yielded 24 runs, shifted momentum. After Klaasen’s dismissal, South Africa required just 26 runs from 23 balls.

Rohit Sharma brought Jasprit Bumrah back for the 18th over, and he responded by bowling Marco Jansen and conceding just two runs. Arshdeep Singh then restricted South Africa to four runs in the penultimate over, leaving them needing 16 from the final six balls.

In a dramatic final over, Pandya bowled a full-toss to David Miller, who was spectacularly caught by Suryakumar Yadav on the boundary. Despite Kagiso Rabada edging a four and a nervy wide from Pandya, the seamer held his composure to secure the win for India, redeeming their loss in last year’s 50 Over World Cup on home soil.

Irish Samachar English News

Kindly click to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar.

{OR} Kindly click to follow the Irish Samachar News channel on WhatsApp

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.