head 3

Dates for Assembly elections in four Indian states have been announced

DELHI: The Election Commission has announced the dates of Assembly elections in four states of India. The election dates for Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry were announced at a press conference held by the Election Commission in Delhi.

As many as 18.68 crore voters can cast their votes at 2.7 lakh polling stations for 824 assembly seats across these five states.

Assembly Elections will begin on March 27. Elections in West Bengal will be held in eight phases on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and last phase on April 29.

Elections for the Assam Assembly will be conducted in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6. Polling in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry will take place in a single phase on April 6.

Voting is to be conducted for 294 seats in West Bengal, 234 in Tamil Nadu, 140 in Kerala, 126 in Assam and 30 in Puducherry.

The last date for nominations is March 19 and the date for withdrawal of nomination is March 22. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora declared the election dates. The date is decided based on the exams and festivals.

In view of COVID-19, the EC has issued specific guidelines for the required facilities at each polling station. Those over the age of 80 will have a postal vote.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.