head 3

“Centre Implements Ban on 23 ‘Ferocious’ Dog Breeds Amidst Rising Attacks on Children and Elderly in India”

The government has imposed a ban on 23 “ferocious” dog breeds, including Rottweilers, Pitbulls, and Mastiffs, due to rising cases of aggressive attacks, particularly on vulnerable groups like children and the elderly. This move follows a directive from the Delhi High Court to address the issue within three months. The ban covers import, sale, breeding, and even mixed or crossbreeds of the prohibited breeds. The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying has instructed states and Union territories to enforce the ban, based on recommendations from an expert committee. Additionally, the government has emphasised the enforcement of existing regulations governing dog breeding and pet shops. This decision comes after advocacy from animal welfare organisations like PETA India, which highlighted the need to protect both humans and vulnerable dog breeds from exploitation and harm.

The Full List of Banned Dog Breeds includes: —Pitbull Terrier, Tosa Inu, American Staffordshire Terrier, Fila Brasileiro, Dogo Argentino, American bulldog, Boerboel, Kangal, Central Asian Shepherd Dog, Caucasian Shepherd Dog, South Russian Shepherd, Tornjak, Sarplaninac, Japanese Tosa and Akita, Mastiffs, Rottweilers, Terriers, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Wolf dogs, Canario, Akbash dog, Moscow Guard dog, Cane Corso, and every dog of the type commonly known as a ‘Ban Dog’.

Irish Samachar English News

Kindly click to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar.

{OR} Kindly click to follow the Irish Samachar News channel on WhatsApp

Comments are closed.