head 3

11 hosts, 6 groups, 24 teams, and one champion: EUFA EURO CUP 2021 starts today

Football fans’ attention has shifted from club football to international football, as the UEFA EURO 2020 kicks off on Saturday (June 12) at 12:30 am IST. The Euro Cup was originally scheduled for last year, but was forced to be postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. Although pandemic is still a threat, the authorities have decided to go ahead with the UEFA tournament in compliance with strong health protocols.

This year the Euro Cup will be held in 11 different countries. The tournament is co-hosted by Azerbaijan, Denmark, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania, Russia, Scotland and Spain.

The semi-finals and final will be held at Wembley Stadium in England. The battle for the title of 24 teams in six groups will end on July 11.

Group F, which includes current Euro champions Portugal, World Cup champions France, and former world champions Germany, is regarded as the most dangerous group this time around. Experts have named Portugal, France, Belgium, England and Italy as favorites for the tournament.

The tournament will start tonight at 8 pm with a match between Italy and Turkey. There are three matches each day from tomorrow. All matches will begin at 6.30 pm, 9.30 pm, and 12.30 pm IST and will be broadcast live on Sony’s sports channels.

Kindly click the link below to join WhatsApp group chat to get important news and breaking news from Irish Samachar


Comments are closed.